Kristina Horner has started a wonderful project called Wordbound! It’s a writing challenge designed to help people take time out of their lives to write each week. Every Wednesday, there will be a prompt and lots of people will use that to write a story, poem, blog post or essay. If you want to find out more about it or join in, you can check out Kristina’s post here.

Personally, I’ve been planning a heptalogy, the “Hi T” series, for a couple of years now and have about ten exercise books full of plans, at least a hundred disconnected scenes saved on my computer and way too many ideas. I want to use some of the #wordbound prompts to write new scenes and edit old ones. I’ll use the others to write short stories, poems, letters and whatever else feels right.

This week’s theme is “What are your personal writing goals for 2017, and what does #wordbound means to you?” 

My writing goals for 2017 are:

  • Finish writing at least one book in the “Hi T” series
  • Get involved with writing events
  • Get some work published in magazines
  • Read at least four books a month (I’m counting this as a writing goal because I believe that reading a lot will help me become a better writer)
  • Build my blog until it’s huge (yes, I do tend to get a bit unrealistic when writing down goals)

 

I’d been looking for a fun blogging challenge for the past two weeks and had, sadly, been unsuccessful. Then, today, I was listening to some old Parselmouths songs when I realized that they had had a reunion recently, so I went on Kristina’s website to see if I could find out more about it and there is was: exactly the kind of challenge I had been looking for.

So for me, #wordbound is the key that I have finally found. I’m not quite sure what it unlocks yet, but I’m definitely going to try The Chamber of Parties, The Chest of Inspiration, The Drawer of Discarded Scrolls and that one-year journal I got for Christmas.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Making Goals and Finding Keys: Wordbound Wednesday #1

Leave a Reply

