This week’s Wordbound prompt is “A character writes a secret message somewhere”.

There can be something really special and wonderful about disconnected paragraphs taken out of a book without any context whatsoever. But then again, sometimes it just doesn’t work and only feels confusing. So do please leave a comment and tell me if this works without any background information or if I need to add an explanation.

 

The 3800260402040005’s day since Sundown

Therapy is advancing well. Started talking about her time as a Changer, quite a peaceful time for most agents with very little actual danger or emotional toil, though the intense mental strain might leave scars.

“I had a nightmare last night where I was on a Maintenance Changing mission. The thing was, I only had to pass a secret message on to one person, but everything kept going wrong. I ended up in the right time zone, but in the wrong village for some reason and then there was a strange lady who wouldn’t leave me alone. I finally ended up in front of a waterfall and I was meant to put the message on one of the stones surrounding it, but then I realized that my pen didn’t work and I tried scratching the message in only to realize that time was running out and I had broken The Fifth Law of Kroshnikoff.”

“Had you?”

“Well, no, I couldn’t have. I had counterbalanced every change I had made and every change’s impact was bounded.”

“But you still felt like there was something you had forgotten?”

“Yeah. It all just became too much and I couldn’t keep track of everything.”

“Your time as a Maintenance Changer must have been very stressful. I’ve had quite a few Changers here over the years and they all said that constantly having to think about every little thing that you do and comparing it to all the laws of time travel drove them crazy.”

“It does. But I guess each task takes a different toll to you, doesn’t it? There isn’t an easy role for Antieli.”

“No, I suppose not.”

“Yeah…I guess I had a nice time there. It’s strange because you just end up with the same timeline that you always knew and it never feel like you actually achieved anything. If I told other people that I traveled through timelines to fix mistakes, they would think it was the best job ever. But it was really just tedious and complicated.”

12 thoughts on “Secret Messages and Time Travel: Wordbound Wednesday #2

    1. Thank you!! I think I interpreted the prompt a bit too loosely-my original plan was to talk about another mission with a more defined secret message, but I couldn’t get the details right and then I started writing and became too engrossed in background information 🙂

      Like

  1. This pulled me right in and left me with questions that made me want to read more of the story. I didn’t understand what the secret message was, even after the third reading. Maybe it will come to me in the middle of the night.

    Hmm, some strange lady following me around… Antieli – could that be antielitism?

    Anyway, it felt rich and meaningful even if I didn’t figure out what the secret message was. The ending reminded me of my 26 years as a pathologist. (Soooo glad it’s over!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I wrote this after a long period of not having written anything, so it IS a bit of a mess 😛 The secret message isn’t really specified-the idea is that it’s political advice or help, meant to influence someone and “change” history.
      I do need to work on names, I’m not sure if I’m happy with antieli. It’s just a variation of “angels” and it sounded right in my head when I making this up ages ago. BUT I love the relation to anti-elitism, I’d never thought of that!
      Thank you so much for your comment, it means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a great piece with real pull and texture, not a mess at all in my opinion. 🙂 Thank you for the explanation about the secret message. Nice to know I didn’t miss something obvious to other readers. Hey, I like the name, Antieli. Reminds me of my daughter’s daughter, Ellie. When her brother, William, has kids, they will call her “Anti Ellie” – partly because of the Hawaiian influence from my wife’s family. (Everybody is Antie or Uncle, not just the relatives.)

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

