This week’s Wordbound prompt is “What is your favourite word? Write a scene around that word.” Now, I don’t think I have ever had a favourite word. When I forced myself to think of some, I came up with “amazing, pseudonym, eerie, palimpsest” and “bellissima”, but none of these are really my favourite word and anyways, I couldn’t think of any good scenes that centred around them. And so I concluded that I didn’t know what my favourite word is and wrote a scene based on that.

This is a scene from the early chapters of “Angel School”, the third book in the “Hi, T” series.

 

“Right” the tutor sighed as he looked down at the register. “Mr. Brendon.”

His sharp gaze swept over the class and to a small, timid boy who slowly raised his hand.

“What is the best word that there is?”

“Um, I’m not sure.”

“Wrong. Miss…Buckell?”

Joanna Buckell was quick to reply. “What’s your definition of best, sir?” she asked smugly.

“You should have read up on definitions before class.”

“Read up on definitions where?” Molly whispered to Zara.

“I’m not sure” she replied, frowning.

By now, it was Mark’s turn. “-so I think that the polarity cancels out, which makes the sound balanced, which is one of the requirements of a high-class word and I think it is the only word which is high-class and positively emotionally charged, so it should maybe be the best.”

The tutor looked thoughtful. “Yes, but there are other words that are high-class and positively emotionally charged.”

“There are?” Mark looked upset.

Zara leaned over. “Psst. The best word is sparkleflies.”

“Are you serious?” Molly whispered back.

“Pretty sure. Ian just said so.”

Word of this seemed to get around quickly, and, when it was Louis Fouquet’s turn, he readily replied “Sparkleflies.”

“Why?”

“Um, why what?”

“Why is sparkleflies the best word?”

“Uh…it fulfils all the conditions we need. It’s high-class?” Louis asked hopefully.

“Well, is it high-class?”

“Yes?”

“But that doesn’t mean it has to be the best word.”

“Please, sir!” Ian was waving his hand in the air. “Sparkleflies fulfils word duality by being high-class and as it is novel, it has got to be positively emotionally charged. Being novel, it also crosses the boundary of popularity-“

“What about nobility?” the tutor cut in.

“Uh…oh no, I forgot about that.” Ian put his hand down defeatedly.

“Is there some kind of dictionary that we didn’t get?” Molly whispered to Zara, but she looked just as confused as Molly felt.

 

 

I hope you all enjoyed reading that, I hope you’re well and thank you to everyone who has checked out my blog, it really means a lot to me. heart

6 thoughts on “Favourite Words and Confusion Galore: Wordbound Wednesday #4

  1. That was really interesting and fun to read! It’s a bit of a strange situation, isn’t it, with the tutor wanting to know weird facts that the students don’t know about. I think I liked it, though.
    The heart at the end of your post is really pretty. Where did you get it from?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

